Saturday, January 9, 2016

On the Road to Totally Hot Mama

I was re-reading some previous posts of mine and came across the one about "Changes".  Well, let's just say that some of those changes didn't happen exactly how I had envisioned.  I am specifically talking about the health/fitness/diet changes that I referred to.  Believe me, I have tried just about everything - low carb, high carb, WW, rabbit food, even diet pills.  UGH!   I'm not really an exerciser.......honestly, I really just don't like it.  I have joined classes in the past and I have had fun AND benefited from them.  I am not a "join a gym and go" kind of person or a "get a video and do it at home" kind of person.  Nope...it won't happen for longer than a week.  I need structure.  I need a time-designated class to go to - the accountability involved in that motivates me.  But I still have reasons, ok..... excuses right now why I can't join a class.  Wah, wah, wah...

I have struggled with my weight (or at least my own perception of it) most of my adult life.  Up and down, up and down, up and down.  Am I grossly overweight?  No.  I know that most of it is my own poor self-image.....my whole life.  My sweet husband tells me every day that I'm beautiful.  I believe that he sees that.  But when I look in the mirror, it's "GAG"!!  I am not a naturally skinny person and I never will be (thanks, genetics).  I'm what you would call curvy (although that's not the word I use) AND I'm 4'10".  Those two things can sometimes be not so pretty.  So, I struggle, physically and emotionally.
  
My daughter introduced me to a new way of life a while ago.  I put off trying it....for months, although I saw it work beautifully for her.  She let me borrow her book - it sat on my shelf because, well, you know, I'm "too busy" to read right now.  I decided to take it on our trip to San Diego and start reading it on the flight - no laundry staring at me, no sewing project waiting, no distractions.  I read a few chapters and I was ready.  She told me to read the whole book, but I was ready!  She said just start with cutting out a few things and start eating the right kind of breakfasts first (I have always been a breakfast skipper), but I WAS READY!!!  I had to just jump right in and not look back - that's just how I roll.  All or nothing.  All in.  Ready.

32 days ago I started Trim Healthy Mama TM.   We had just gotten in the night before from SD, so I didn't have all the right groceries that I needed, but I just ate what I had that was on plan.  This was on December 9.  After about a week, I thought, "What the heck?  Christmas is coming and I started this now? What was I thinking?"  But remember, I was all in.  I baked no cookies (the first time in my whole adult life, I think), my poor family.  My youngest daughter asked me to make some mashed potatoes for her (because I do make pretty good ones) and I didn't even take a taste to make sure they were perfection.  Not one taste!!!  Our Christmas Eve Breakfast tradition was totally on plan and everyone ate it.  We're talking egg/sausage casserole, bacon and yummy fruit!!!  I was so happy, and pretty proud of myself, for getting through Christmas without cheating.   I am month in with no sugar, so sodas (even diet), no bread (we can all cry about that), no potatoes/rice.  As of today, I am 6 lbs down, and most of that was in the first 10 days.  Normally, I would be about ready to give up at this point when the scale moves sooooo sloooowwwwwllllyyyy.  But my clothes are fitting again and I am feeling SO MUCH BETTER, physically.  And I know that it will only continue to get better and better.


That's where I'm at right now.   I think about food a lot, but it's usually planning my menu for the day.  I have to do that or it won't work for me.  I'm learning to read labels.  I am enjoying food that I have avoided in the past.  Only a month in and the sight or even the thought of some of the fast food that I see on TV make me sick to my stomach.  I hope that two years from now when I re-read this post, that I'm not writing about starting AGAIN!  The exercise part?  Well, you know, maybe when it gets warmer and I'll start walking......hahahahaha


No comments:

Post a Comment